Search

  • iXS Trail Stories Episode #003

    Building the Base

Let's be honest: downhill racing is the best sport in the world. We all love the excitement of the DH World Cup. But racing at the top requires a strong foundation - and this are local races like the iXS Downhill Cup. Here the stars of tomorrow are born and here every biker can compete with his buddies and other like-minded racer. In the latest episode of iXS Trail Stories, we therefore take a look behind the scenes of the legendary iXS Downhill Cup race in Ilmenau.

P6pb25960960

Constant rain, 8° C, and ankle-deep mud - what sounds like fall is actually a morning in mid-June. You don't really want to go out in this weather. But it doesn't help, it's Thursday and the Racement crew is just parking two sprinters backwards on the finishing slope of the legendary downhill course in Ilmenau to start setting up for the iXS Downhill Cup race at the weekend. In the days and weeks beforehand, members of the local bike club have already put their heart and soul into building the track and taking care of all the infrastructure.

P6pb25960920

Before a race weekend gets down to business, the entire infrastructure must first be set up.

P6pb25960926

An important part of every race, the display board under the finish arch.

P6pb25960928

Wutzi and Maxi from Racement don't let a little rain spoil their mood.

P6pb25960931

The local organiser is responsible for building and taping the course. A downhill race could not be organised without a large number of volunteers. THANK YOU ALL for that!

P6pb25960930
P6pb25960929

Racement is the company that takes care of the organisation and implementation of the iXS Cups in the background. The race in Ilmenau is a real home game for them, as they have their company headquarters on site. During the race season, however, the team is hardly ever at home, instead travelling all over Europe for the various race series of the iXS Downhill Cup. Always with the mission of offering all racers a professional infrastructure for their competition - regardless of whether they are weekend warriors or aspiring World Cup athletes.

P6pb25960961
P6pb25960950
P6pb25960948
P6pb25960947
P6pb25960940
P6pb25960932
P6pb25960954

Racement takes care of the professional timekeeping throughout the weekend.

P6pb25960944
P6pb25960945

The infrastructure and fixed routines not only guarantee a fun race weekend for all participants, this consistency is also important for aspiring professionals to gain experience. What is important on track walks? How do I focus on my qualifying run? What details do I pay attention to during the last training session before the race? All these and countless other aspects also play a major role in the iXS Downhill Cup races. However, the fun and family atmosphere at the races is at least as important - after all, not everyone wants to become a Pro Racer. "On the track you're competitors, but in the paddock you're friends and help each other, and that's what makes the races so special," says Moni Gasbichler. You race against the clock, not against other athletes.

P6pb25960933

Where is the best line? There's also a trackwalk at the iXS Downhill Cup races and despite the supposed competition, riders give each other tips here.

P6pb25960956

Unique to Ilmenau - the fan corner!

The two fastest women in World Cup racing at the moment both have their roots in the iXS Cup: Vali Höll and Nina Hoffmann. We met Nina at the side of the track in Ilmenau. She herself says: "If we wouldn't have these races, there would be no pro racers. You definitely need the base to build the peak."

P6pb25960962

iXS Downhill Cups - the place where you celebrate your friend's success more than your own.

P6pb25960952
P6pb25960922
P6pb25960923

We at iXS are proud to have been developing this base for the sport in Europe for more than 20 years. For us, the iXS Downhill Cup races are more than just a stepping stone to the World Cup. They are the place where you carry your bike over the mud out of love after washing it, only to destroy the rear wheel on a root the next day. Where the smell of barbecue mingles with the scent of tyre sealant. Where you duel with friends on the track and then celebrate each other's victory despite losing. They are the place where downhill racing has its home base - the place we love!

P6pb25960921

More news

SR Suntour 1
22.02.2024

SR Suntour becomes family member

New partner in the iXS Downhill Cup

A new partner has joined the sponsorship portfolio for the 2024 season. The newest member of the series' supporters is SR Suntour. The suspension fork manufacturer from Taiwan is thus expanding its involvement in the downhill sector and contributing to the promotion of the sport.

continue to read
Panorama Panticosa Stadtklein
20.02.2024

Preview Panticosa

EDC goes Spain 🇪🇸

This will be the first Spanish race in the history of the iXS European Downhill Cup. Never before has the series set foot on Spanish soil. The region promises majestic mountains, unique nature and a course that has even hosted a World Cup.

continue to read
UCI MTB World Cup 2023 19
08.02.2024

Preview Lenzerheide

Worldcup vibes 🇨🇭

The second round of the iXS EDC will take place as part of the "Bike Kingdom Feast" in Lenzerheide. In addition to the race, there will also be fun events, shows, workshops and an after-show party for visitors to experience. Once again, Switzerland invites you to enjoy its local culture and hospitality.

continue to read

Suche

  • iXS Trail Stories Episode #003

    Building the Base

Seien wir ehrlich: Downhill ist der beste Sport der Welt. Wir alle lieben die Aufregung des DH World Cups. Aber um ganz oben mitzufahren, braucht man ein starkes Fundament - und das sind lokale Rennen wie der iXS Downhill Cup. Hier werden die Stars von morgen geboren und hier kann sich jeder mit seinen Kumpels und anderen gleichgesinnten Racern messen. In der neuesten Folge der iXS Trail Stories werfen wir deshalb einen Blick hinter die Kulissen des legendären iXS Downhill Cup Rennens in Ilmenau.

P6pb25960960

Dauerregen, 8° C und knöcheltiefer Schlamm - was sich nach Herbst anhört, ist in Wirklichkeit ein Morgen Mitte Juni. Bei diesem Wetter will man eigentlich gar nicht vor die Tür. Aber es hilft nichts, es ist Donnerstag und die Racement-Crew parkt gerade zwei Sprinter rückwärts am Zielhang der legendären Downhill-Strecke in Ilmenau, um mit den Vorbereitungen für das iXS Downhill Cup Rennen am Wochenende zu beginnen. Bereits in den Tagen und Wochen zuvor haben Mitglieder des örtlichen Vereins mit viel Herzblut die Strecke gebaut und sich um die gesamte Infrastruktur gekümmert.

P6pb25960920

Bevor es an einem Rennwochenende zur Sache geht, muss zunächst die gesamte Infrastruktur aufgebaut werden.

P6pb25960926

Ein wichtiger Bestandteil jedes Rennens: die Anzeigetafel unter dem Zielbogen.

P6pb25960928

Wutzi und Maxi von Racement lassen sich von ein bisschen Regen nicht die Laune verderben.

P6pb25960931

Der örtliche Organisator ist für den Bau und die Absperrung der Strecke verantwortlich. Ein Downhill-Rennen könnte ohne eine große Anzahl von Freiwilligen nicht organisiert werden. DANKE an ALLE dafür!

P6pb25960930
P6pb25960929

Racement ist die Firma, die sich im Hintergrund um die Organisation und Durchführung der iXS Cups kümmert. Das Rennen in Ilmenau ist für sie ein echtes Heimspiel, denn sie haben ihren Firmensitz vor Ort. Während der Rennsaison ist das Team jedoch kaum zu Hause, sondern reist zu den verschiedenen Rennserien des iXS Downhill Cups quer durch Europa. Immer mit dem Anspruch, allen Rennfahrern eine professionelle Infrastruktur für ihren Wettbewerb zu bieten - egal ob Wochenendfahrer oder angehender Weltcup-Athlet.

P6pb25960961
P6pb25960950
P6pb25960948
P6pb25960947
P6pb25960940
P6pb25960932
P6pb25960954

Racement kümmert sich während des gesamten Wochenendes um die professionelle Zeiterfassung.

P6pb25960944
P6pb25960945

Die Infrastruktur und die festen Abläufe garantieren nicht nur ein unterhaltsames Rennwochenende für alle Teilnehmer, diese Beständigkeit ist auch für angehende Profis wichtig, um Erfahrungen zu sammeln. Was ist beim Track Walk wichtig? Wie konzentriere ich mich auf meinen Qualifikationslauf? Auf welche Details achte ich in der letzten Trainingseinheit vor dem Rennen? All diese und unzählige weitere Aspekte spielen auch bei den Rennen des iXS Downhill Cups eine große Rolle. Mindestens genauso wichtig ist aber der Spaß und die familiäre Atmosphäre bei den Rennen - schließlich will nicht jeder ein Pro Racer werden. "Auf der Strecke ist man Konkurrent, aber im Fahrerlager ist man befreundet und hilft sich gegenseitig, und das macht die Rennen so besonders", sagt Moni Gasbichler. Man fährt gegen die Uhr, nicht gegen andere Sportler.

P6pb25960933

Wo ist die beste Linie? Auch bei den Rennen des iXS Downhill Cups gibt es einen Track Walk und trotz des vermeintlichen Wettbewerbs geben sich die Fahrer hier gegenseitig Tipps.

P6pb25960956

Einzigartig in Ilmenau - die Fankurve!

Die beiden derzeit schnellsten Frauen im Weltcup haben beide ihre Wurzeln im iXS Cup: Vali Höll und Nina Hoffmann. Wir haben Nina am Rande der Strecke in Ilmenau getroffen. Sie selbst sagt: "Wenn wir diese Rennen nicht hätten, gäbe es keine Profi-Rennfahrer. Man braucht auf jeden Fall die Basis, um den Gipfel zu erreichen."

P6pb25960962

iXS Downhill Cups - der Ort, an dem du den Erfolg deiner Freunde mehr feierst als deinen eigenen.

P6pb25960952
P6pb25960922
P6pb25960923

Wir von iXS sind stolz darauf, diese Basis für den Sport in Europa seit mehr als 20 Jahren zu entwickeln. Für uns sind die iXS Downhill Cup Rennen mehr als nur ein Sprungbrett zum Weltcup. Sie sind der Ort, an dem man sein Rad nach dem Waschen aus Liebe über den Schlamm trägt, nur um am nächsten Tag das Hinterrad an einer Wurzel zu zerstören. Wo sich der Geruch von Gegrilltem mit dem Duft von Reifendichtmittel vermischt. Wo man sich mit Freunden auf der Strecke duelliert und dann den Sieg des anderen feiert, obwohl man verloren hat. Sie sind der Ort, an dem der Downhill-Rennsport seine Heimat hat - der Ort, den wir lieben!

P6pb25960921

Weitere News

Sunny EDC Losinj 2023
27.02.2024

Anmeldestart Losinj

Serienauftakt iXS EDC 2024

Mitte April wird der Startschuss für die Saison des iXS European Cups fallen. Bereits zum dritten Mal geht es dazu nach Losinj auf eine schöne Insel in Kroatien. Ab heute ist die Anmeldung für den Serienauftakt geöffnet und zusätzlich möchten wir euch an dieser Stelle noch ein paar Hinweise für dieses Rennen liefern.

weiterlesen
SR Suntour 1
22.02.2024

SR Suntour wird Familienmitglied

Neuer Partner im iXS Downhill Cup

Für die Saison 2024 gesellt sich ein neuer Partner zum Sponsoring-Portfolie hinzu. Neuestes Mitglied der Unterstützer der Serien ist SR Suntour. Der Federgabelhersteller aus Taiwan weitet damit sein Engagement im Downhill-Bereich aus und trägt somit zur Förderung des Sports bei.

weiterlesen
Panorama Panticosa Stadtklein
20.02.2024

Vorstellung Panticosa

EDC goes Spain 🇪🇸

Für den iXS European Downhill Cup wird dies das erste spanische Rennen in der Geschichte sein. Noch nie zuvor hat die Serie spanischen Boden betreten. Die Region verspricht majestätische Berge, einzigartige Natur und eine Strecke, auf der sogar schon ein Weltcup ausgetragen wurde.

weiterlesen