Search

  • The struggle is real

    Kosárková and Abbou win in Spicak

Last weekend, Spicak was the venue for the fourth round of the iXS Downhill Cup. Around 300 participants from 21 nations came to determine the winners on the challenging course in the Czech Bohemian Forest.


An old familiar face

Spicak has long been a familiar venue in the iXS Cup calendar. From 2010 to 2021, the European Cup was always held in the bike park on the German-Czech border before two years of abstinence interrupted this habit. So it was all the more pleasing that a race was now back and that even the Open classes could be offered this opportunity.

View from top DHC Spicak 2024
Lifthouse DHC Spicak 2024

The track

For the race, the track with the characteristic name "Struggle" was transformed back into a race-ready course, with some sections having been revised compared to the previous EDC venue. The line was now somewhat smoother and some passages had been toned down. With a length of around 1,800 metres and an elevation gain of 350 metres, the course is already in the upper echelons in terms of topographical data compared to other locations in the series. But as if that wasn't challenging enough, the changing surface of rocks, stones, forest floor and root passages challenged the athletes. During the track walk, many of the protagonists expressed their respect and faced a tough piece of work for the weekend.

Play video Thumb DHC 4 Spicak
Maxxis Course Preview - iXS DHC #4 Spicak 2024

The favourites

Friday and Saturday offered all those present plenty of training time in the best summer weather, so that nothing stood in the way of an exciting seeding run. A few favourites who seemed to cope particularly well with the conditions already emerged during training and so there were no big surprises in the results of the individual classes in the end. The fastest elite riders were Sabina Kosárková (CZE - Kellys Factory Team) with a time of 3:30.606 minutes and Jan Pająk (POL - BSR DH Team) with 3:00.208 minutes.

Epic View DHC Spicak 2024
Filip Jech DHC Spicak 2024
Drop 2 DHC Spicak 2024

Mudparty

On Saturday evening, the almost obligatory rain arrived and continued throughout the night. This presented the racers with a completely different picture on Sunday morning. They had to adapt to the new conditions, although the loamy ground offered more grip than expected. In training, the conditions were not as bad as partly predicted, because at least it remained dry from above. However, this changed in the afternoon and it was once again a real mud race.

Mud DHC Spicak 2024
Florian Brunda DHC Spicak 2024
Anton Zierl DHC Spicak 2024

The Elite Women

In the elite women's class, the previous day's fastest rider coped best with the wet course. Sabina Kosárková needed 3:49.525 minutes to win, beating Emma Bindhammer (AUT - radUnion St. Johann) into second place by around four seconds. Third place went to Lea Stornebel (GER - Ergotec Racing Team), who was thus able to extend her lead in the overall standings.

The Elite Men

Jannik Abbou (GER - DH Talent Team) celebrated his first international victory in the Elite Men's class. With a time of 3:17.468 minutes and a wafer-thin lead, he relegated Elias Heil (GER - Bergrausch Racing) to second place. Nils Klasen (GER - Team Racepark Schulenberg) completed the podium.

Pro U19 male Podium DHC Spicak 2024
Pro U17 male Podium DHC Spicak 2024
Girls U17 Podium DHC Spicak 2024
Elite Women DHC Spicak 2024
Elite Men Podium DHC Spicak 2024

The quickest

Additional mention should also be made of the younger participants, as the series sees itself as a forge for young talent on the international stage. First and foremost, Rosa Zierl (AUT - Cube Next Generation) deserves the necessary attention, as the U17 rider often achieves the best time of the day of all the female participants. Once again, she beat the elite time by around 10 seconds. Her brother Anton Zierl (AUT - Cube Next Generation) from the Rookies U15 category equalled her time and took almost 3 seconds off the Elite Men. However, the conditions were much drier here.

Richard Tandara (POL - CTM Racing Team) from the Pro U17 male category also rode a touch faster than the Elite Men class. The youngsters really showed this weekend that they have what it takes.

Rosa Zierl DHC Spicak 2024
Richard Tandara DHC Spicak 2024

See you soon

Spicak was definitely an enrichment for the race calendar of the iXS Downhill Cup and has positively influenced the standard of the course. Next on the series programme is Ilmenau, which will also host the German Championships.

Footer DH V1

More news

Hannes Lehmann EDC Panticosa 2024
21.07.2024

Hot Premiere in Spain

Energias de Panticosa

Round three of the iXS European Downhill Cup in Panticosa was a historic event. For the first time in the history of the iXS Cup, the European series was held in Spain. The more than 200 riders from 26 nations were to arrive in time for the first real heatwave in the north of Spain.

continue to read
Thumb EDC YT 3 V2
21.07.2024

Race Mashup

iXS EDC #3 Panticosa 2024
continue to read
Thumb EDC 3 Panticosa
19.07.2024

Maxxis Course Preview

iXS EDC #3 Panticosa 2024
continue to read

Suche

  • The struggle is real

    Kosárková und Abbou siegen in Spicak

Am zurückliegenden Wochenende war Spicak der Austragungsort des vierten Laufs des iXS Downhill Cups. Etwa 300 Teilnehmende aus 21 Nationen waren gekommen, um auf dem anspruchsvollen Kurs im tschechischen Böhmerwald die Sieger zu ermitteln.


Ein alter Bekannter

Spicak ist schon lange kein unbekannter Veranstaltungsort im Kalender des iXS Cups. In den Jahren 2010 bis 2021 gastierte stets der Europacup im Bikepark an der deutsch-tschechischen Grenze, bevor zwei Jahre Abstinenz diese Gewohnheit unterbrachen. Umso erfreulicher war es nun also, dass man sich nun mit einem Rennen zurückmeldete und sogar den Open-Klassen diese Gelegenheit bieten konnte.

View from top DHC Spicak 2024
Lifthouse DHC Spicak 2024

Die Strecke

Für das Rennen wurde die Strecke mit den bezeichnenden Namen „Struggle“ wieder in einen race-tauglichen Kurs verwandelt, wobei man einige Abschnitte im Vergleich zum früheren Schauplatz des EDC überarbeitet hatte. Die Linie war nun etwas flüssiger und einige Passagen waren durchaus etwas entschärft. Mit etwa 1.800 Metern Länge und 350 Höhenmetern gehört der Kurs schon zum oberen Feld hinsichtlich der topografischen Daten im Vergleich mit anderen Orten der Serie. Doch als wäre dies nicht schon Anspruch genug, forderte der wechselnde Untergrund aus Felsen, Steinen, Waldboden und Wurzelpassagen die Athletinnen und Athleten. Bereits beim Track Walk äußerten viele Protagonisten ihren Respekt und sahen sich einem harten Stück Arbeit fürs Wochenende gegenüber.

Video abspielen Thumb DHC 4 Spicak
Maxxis Course Preview - iXS DHC #4 Spicak 2024

Die Favoriten

Der Freitag und Samstag bot allen Anwesenden genug Trainingszeit bei bestem sommerlichem Wetter, so dass einem spannenden Seeding Run nichts im Wege stand. Bereits im Training kristallisierten sich einige Favoriten heraus, die mit den Bedingungen besonders gut zurecht zu kommen schienen und so waren es am Ende keine ganz großen Überraschungen in den Ergebnissen der einzelnen Klassen. Schnellste Elite Rider waren Sabina Kosárková (CZE - Kellys Factory Team) mit einer Zeit von 3:30.606 Minuten und Jan Pająk (POL - BSR DH Team) mit 3:00.208 Minuten.

Epic View DHC Spicak 2024
Filip Jech DHC Spicak 2024
Drop 2 DHC Spicak 2024

Schlammparty

Am Samstagabend kam dann der in diesem Jahr fast schon obligatorische Regen und hielt die Nacht über an. Somit bot sich den Racern am Sonntagmorgen ein völlig anderes Bild. Es galt sich auf die neuen Bedingungen einzustellen, obwohl der lehmige Boden doch mehr Grip bot, als erwartet. Im Training waren die Verhältnisse auch gar nicht so schlecht wie teilweise vorhergesagt, denn zumindest von oben blieb es trocken. Dies änderte sich aber am Nachmittag und somit kann man erneut von einem richtigen Schlammrennen sprechen.

Mud DHC Spicak 2024
Florian Brunda DHC Spicak 2024
Anton Zierl DHC Spicak 2024

Die Elite Frauen

In der Klasse der Elite Women kam die Vortagesschnellste am besten mit dem nassen Kurs zurecht. Sabina Kosárková benötigte 3:49.525 Minuten für den Sieg und verwies mit etwa vier Sekunden Emma Bindhammer (AUT - radUnion St. Johann) auf den zweiten Rang. Dritte wurde Lea Stornebel (GER - Ergotec Racing Team), die damit ihre Führung in der Gesamtwertung weiter ausbauen konnte.

Die Elite Männer

Die Elite Men Klasse konnte Jannik Abbou (GER - DH Talent Team) seinen ersten internationalen Sieg feiern. Mit einer Zeit von 3:17.468 Minuten und einem hauchdünnen Vorsprung verwies er Elias Heil (GER - Bergrausch Racing) auf Rang zwei. Das Podest komplettierte Nils Klasen (GER - Team Racepark Schulenberg).

Pro U19 male Podium DHC Spicak 2024
Pro U17 male Podium DHC Spicak 2024
Girls U17 Podium DHC Spicak 2024
Elite Women DHC Spicak 2024
Elite Men Podium DHC Spicak 2024

Die Schnellsten

Zusätzliche Erwähnung sollten noch die jüngeren Teilnehmenden erfahren, schließlich versteht sich die Serie als Nachwuchsschmiede für das internationale Parkett. Allen vorab verdient Rosa Zierl (AUT - Cube Next Generation) die nötige Aufmerksamkeit, schließlich erreicht die U17 Fahrerin häufig die Tagesbestzeit aller weiblichen Teilnehmerinnen. So unterbot sie auch diesmal um etwa 10 Sekunden die Elite Zeit. Ihr Bruder Anton Zierl (AUT - Cube Next Generation) aus der Kategorie Rookies U15 kam ihr gleich und nahm der Elite Men noch einmal fast 3 Sekunden ab. Allerdings waren hier die Bedingungen noch deutlich trockenerer.

Richard Tandara (POL - CTM Racing Team) aus der Pro U17 male fuhr ebenso einen Hauch schneller als die Elite Men Klasse. Der Nachwuchs hat an diesem Wochenende wirklich gezeigt, dass er es drauf hat.

Rosa Zierl DHC Spicak 2024
Richard Tandara DHC Spicak 2024

See you soon

Spicak war auf jeden Fall eine Bereicherung für den Rennkalender des iXS Downhill Cups und hat mit der Strecke den Anspruch des Niveaus positiv beeinflusst. Als nächstes im Programm der Serie steht Ilmenau, wo auch gleichzeitig die Deutsche Meisterschaft stattfinden wird.

Footer DH V1

Weitere News

Hannes Lehmann EDC Panticosa 2024
21.07.2024

Heiße Premiere in Spanien

Energias de Panticosa

Runde drei des iXS European Downhill Cups in Panticosa war ein historisches Ereignis. Zum ersten Mal in der Geschichte des iXS Cups wurde mit der European Serie ein Rennen in Spanien ausgetragen. Die über 200 Fahrer aus 26 Nationen sollten rechtzeitig mit der ersten richtigen Hitzewelle im Norden Spaniens ankommen.

weiterlesen
Thumb EDC YT 3 V2
21.07.2024

Race Mashup

iXS EDC #3 Panticosa 2024
weiterlesen
Thumb EDC 3 Panticosa
19.07.2024

Maxxis Course Preview

iXS EDC #3 Panticosa 2024
weiterlesen